UQ Rebels Looking to secure the Championship for themselves!

Friday 27 November, 2020

Everyone loves a rivalry and the rivalry between UQ Rebels and the Caboolture Colts Premier Women’s sides is as good as it gets. UQ Rebels who have since Affiliated under the TFA University Model are now looking to secure the championship for themselves at this year’s 2020 QLD State Cup. They recently slugged it out in the Metro Cup Grand Final where Caboolture Colts won 6-5 in a thriller and they are hungry to bounce back at the 2020 Queensland Touch Football QLD State Cup.

The UQ Rebels are the defending State Cup champions and to go back-to-back would be a great achievement. “The State Cup is effectively the pinnacle event for affiliates in Queensland, so the opportunity for the girls to go back-to-back is huge. It would cement the teams place in the history of the club,” said UQ Rebels President James Sharp.

The rivalry between UQ Rebels and Caboolture Colts started in the Metro Cup competition having met in the past four grand finals. Each grand final has been decided by a single point, which shows the competitiveness between both teams. “Anytime you play a team that often, especially in big games, there is bound to be some level of friendly rivalry between the two sides,” said James Sharp. UQ Rebels won three Metro Cup grand finals in a row and just recently lost their first against the Colts.

Heading into the QLD State Cup, the team is firing on all cylinders and looking impressive with UQ Rebels life member and TFA Hall of Famer Renee Murphy as coach. “They’re a tight knit group and the work they put in outside of the usual training sessions is incredible. In my opinion, they would rival many professional athletes,” said James Sharp.

The UQ Rebels has talent all across the park heading into the QLD State Cup lead by captain Sammy-Jo Curtis and young Jada Ferguson who had a tremendous Metro Cup season this year. The team will also benefit from the return of NRLW player, Tarryn Aiken, who recently missed the Metro Cup finals series due to being in the NRLW bubble for the Brisbane Broncos and Queensland Maroons.